The first book review post

One of the books that was recommended to me at STAR EAST was Perfect Software: And Other Illusions about Testing by Gerald Weinberg.  I have read one of his other books An Introduction to General Systems Thinking, a while back after it was recommend at another conference some time ago.  While that one was hard for me to digest and still is, the Perfect Software book is very readable and packed with lots of good information.  I do agree with a lot of what Gerry puts forth as far as the idea and purpose of testing, what it is and isn’t able to be accomplished, and  how do act and behave in certain situations.  The context driven school that I understand Gerry, John Bach, and Michael Bolton preach is one that I have started to adopt in my own testing and management.  While I don’t agree with everything ( and don’t expect to by the way ), I do find their take a refreshing challenge and departure from the normal and traditional views on testing.  The book is also a relatively short read and has many example stories to drive home points.  His style of writing in this book is much preferred and easy to follow compared to my other experience. I see this as another book to add to the “Once a year” list that I have for references along with my bible ( and a James Bach co-authored book )  Lessons Learned in Software Testing.

I would recommend Perfect Software to anyone that deals with software projects or anyone who is interested in providing better information to their teams.

About

I like to create things, work with interesting people, and do all things agile. I have a testing background and really want to make great products that solve problems.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

